Skip to main page content

2021 Book for Children Competition

Congratulations to our 2021 Book for Children Shortlisted Entries

Beyond reasonable DoubtCaroline Blake
Children of the ScorchLu Hersey
Escape From NowhereMarie Day
Friend or foe – the girl from the starsJacqueline Kelly
Girl Elephant WarChrissy Sturt
Jason Miller and the Whispering SwordMike Wallbridge
Land of WavesGavin Eugene O’Toole
NeverestSusannah Brindle
Nevern CoveJosie O’Reilly
Skyrats and ScavengersLouis Clayton
The Boy Who Cooked BugsElaine Cline
The Boy Who Walked On WaterJason Button
The Memory of SwimmingNatalie Lucy
The Riddle of Stanbridge HallCate Holness
Dr Joanna Nadin is our 2021 Book for Children Judge

Joanna is the author of more than 80 books for children, teenagers and adults, including the award-winning Penny Dreadful series, the Flying Fergus series with Sir Chris Hoy, and the critically acclaimed Joe All Alone – now a BAFTA-winning BBC series. She has twice been nominated for the Carnegie Medal, as well being shortlisted for the Roald Dahl Prize, the Best Book Awards and Queen of Teen. Her latest series is The Worst Class in the World.

Prize money in the Book for Children is 1st £750, 2nd £300, 3rd £200. Plus an opportunity to win a Local Prize of £100.

Entries to the Book for Children Competition should be aimed at readers between the ages of 7-16 years. We require either the first two chapters or first twenty pages, whichever is the shortest, together with the synopsis of up to two pages and the age range of the book specified. The entries must be anonymous.

Please read the Terms & Conditions carefully to ensure you entry is accepted.