Skip to main page content

2021 Book for Children

Our thanks go to the shortlist team, to Dr Joanna Nadin our 2021 Book for Children Judge and to all those entrants who made the competition so tough for the team.

Joanna is the author of more than 80 books for children, teenagers and adults, including the award-winning Penny Dreadful series, the Flying Fergus series with Sir Chris Hoy, and the critically acclaimed Joe All Alone – now a BAFTA-winning BBC series. She has twice been nominated for the Carnegie Medal, as well being shortlisted for the Roald Dahl Prize, the Best Book Awards and Queen of Teen. Her latest series is The Worst Class in the World.

2021 Winners

1stChildren of the ScorchLu Hersey
2ndGirl Elephant WarChrissy Sturt
3rdThe Riddle of Stanbridge HallCate Holness
Local PrizeEscape from NowhereMarie Day