Skip to main page content

2023 Short Story Results

We would like to congratulate all our winners and thank everyone who entered the Short Story Competition this year. Congratulations to Lucille Agapov for her winning entry The Parts We Play.

2023 Winners

Our thanks also go to the shortlist team and to Claire Fuller, our 2023 Short Story Judge. Without them we wouldn’t be able to run our competitions. The winning entries can be downloaded and enjoyed from the table below.

PositionTitleAuthorDownload Link (Subject to Availability)
1stThe Parts We PlayLucille Agapov Download PDF of The Parts We Play by Caitlin Gunthorp
2ndMaking NotesFenja Hill Download PDF of Making Notes by Fenja Hill
3rdTHE GIFTLynn Baxter Download PDF of The Gift by Lynn Baxter
Wyvern Local PrizeEnid and the Lost BoysSue Purkiss Download PDF of Enid and the Lost Boys by Sue Purkiss

Claire Fuller

Claire Fuller’s much anticipated fifth novel The Memory of Animals was published in April this year and her fourth (Unsettled Ground) featured at our Festival Book Group event last year – the subject of a fascinating discussion! Unsettled Ground also won the Costa Novel Award 2021 and was shortlisted for the Women’s Prize for Fiction.

Claire’s books have been translated into more than 20 languages, she also writes flash fiction and short stories. She has won the Royal Academy / Pin Drop prize as well as the BBC Opening Lines short story competition.

Competitions Archive

Winners of our previous Competitions